History Case Western Reserve University is a world class institution comprised of more than 9,000 students (1/3 undergraduate, 2/3 graduate and professional) and 2,500 faculty members in eight schools and colleges.

The Case School of Engineering is nationally ranked as one of the top engineering schools with a 125-year history of excellence. The School offers through seven departments: 14 undergraduate degree programs, 14 Master of Science degrees and their related Doctor of Philosophy degrees, as well as the Master of Engineering and Master of Engineering and Management degrees.

Case Western Reserve University traces its roots to the founding of Western Reserve College in 1826, while the Case School of Engineering traces its roots to the 1880 founding of the Case School of Applied Science. The school became the Case Institute of Technology in 1947 and the Case School of Engineering in 1992.

The university assumed its current structure in 1967 with the federation of Western Reserve University and Case Institute of Technology. Built from traditions of excellence in engineering, the natural sciences and mathematics, medicine, management, law, dentistry, nursing, the arts and humanities, social sciences and social work, all eight of the university's schools are top ranked in their disciplines. Dozens of faculty and alumni have received international honors in their fields, such as the Nobel Prize.

Case is the best small private university for engineers "plus"-those whose interests and abilities allow them to excel beyond engineering. Dual majors in the humanities, joint degrees in management and medicine, and laboratories shared with world class institutions like the Cleveland Institute of Art and NASA Glenn Research Center let Case engineers go as far as their imaginations will take them.