Materials doctoral candidate Janet Gbur becomes president of Microscopy Society of America Student Council

Janet GburJanet Gbur, a doctoral candidate in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, has begun her term as president of the newly formed student council of the Microscopy Society of America.
She was appointed president-elect when the council was created last year and took over as president at the Microcopy and Microanalysis conference in St. Louis in August.

Gbur works in the Nitinol Commercialization Accelerator Laboratory and Advanced Manufacturing and Mechanical Reliability Center under John J. Lewandowski, the Arthur P. Armington Professor of Engineering II, and she is also member of the HAPTIX iSens project team under Dustin Tyler, the Kent H. Smith Professor of Biomedical Engineering, in the Functional Neural Interfaces Lab. Her research focuses on the robustness and reliability of wires and cables that are used in biomedical applications.
Learn more about the student council and its officers.