Materials doctoral candidate Janet Gbur appointed to Microscopy Society of America Student Council

Janet Gbur

Janet Gbur, a doctoral candidate in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, has been named president-elect of the newly formed student council of the Microscopy Society of America.

The society created the council earlier this year to improve the level and sustainability of student input and to provide leadership opportunities for society members at the earliest stages of their careers.

Gbur works in the Nitinol Commercialization Accelerator Laboratory and Advanced Manufacturing and Mechanical Reliability Center under John J. Lewandowski, the Arthur P. Armington Professor of Engineering II, and she is also member of the HAPTIX iSens project team under Dustin Tyler, the Kent H. Smith Professor of Biomedical Engineering, in the Functional Neural Interfaces Lab. Her research focuses on the robustness and reliability of wires and cables that are used in biomedical applications.

She will take over as president of the student council at the Microscopy and Microanalysis conference in St. Louis in August.

Learn more about Gbur and her role as president-elect.